Annapolis is full of historical architecture existing quietly or famously on many neighborhood corners. In this column, architect Chip Bohl identifies them for us, one corner at a time.
The circa 1855 drawing from the State House dome by the E. Sachse Co. is a fascinating portrait of Annapolis. Near the center of the drawing is East Street. To the right of East Street is a densely packed assembly of small buildings crammed toward the bustling activity of the harbor. To the left of East Street the scene is quite different. Large homes are surrounded by gardens with massive yards fenced and gated. The Paca House (1763-65) and the James Brice House (1767-73) are identifiable by their towering chimneys. They share one large city block exclusively with the Hammond Harwood House (1774). The Judge John Brice House (1739) and the John Brice III House (1766-75) control a large swath of the block defined by East Street, Prince George Street (which they front), Maryland Avenue and State Circle. The Chase Lloyd House (1769-74) and Ogle Hall (1739-42) own the entire city block north of the Hammond Harwood House. In the upper left hand corner of the drawing is McDowell Hall (1744-46) of St. John’s College, originally conceived as the colonial governor’s house.
Click on the above image to read more.